Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
International Agreements: Mutual Exemption Agreements​


In addition to the Washington Accord and the EMF initiatives, ECSA has decided to pursue the signing of Mutual Exemption Agreements with individual members of the Washington Accord. Agreements of this nature can be effected more expeditiously than is possible within the EMF movement. These Agreements are principally aimed at mutual recognition of persons registered at the full professional level, i.e. Professional Engineer, Professional Technologist (Engineering) etc.

The negotiations with the Institution of Civil Engineers (UK) (ICE) were concluded at the end of 2000 when the Councils of ECSA, ICE and SAICE (SA Institution for Civil Engineering) ratified the terms of the Agreement.
The Agreement was signed on 18 June 2001 at ECSA’s offices in Bruma, Johannesburg.

View The Agreement »

After some months of negotiation, Agreement was reached on the signing of Mutual Exemption Agreements between ECSA, the Engineers Ireland and three South African Institutions, viz SA Institution of Civil Engineering (SAICE), the SA Institute of Electrical Engineers (SAIEE) and the SA Institution of Mechanical Engineering (SAIMechE). These Agreements apply in respect of Civil, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering and focuses only on Professional Engineers.

The Agreements are aimed at significantly reducing the ‘red-tape’ normally associated with applying for registration with ECSA or membership of a South African Institution or for membership of the Engineers Ireland and associated chartered engineer status. In short, any professional engineer who is registered with ECSA and who is a paid-up member of any of the Institutions mentioned above and who meets the requirements laid down in the Agreements will on application to Engineers Ireland be automatically eligible for membership of the Engineers Ireland and be awarded chartered engineer status for Ireland.

View the Agreements with Engineers Ireland and Addenda:

Engineer Ireland - Access Pathways Agreement​